Parson Woodforde the Parson Woodforde Society
promoting the study of the diary of James Woodforde, 1740-1803
home | blog | the diary | the society | noticeboard | newsletters| publications | links | contact

The Society

Ansford Inn, SomersetThe Parson Woodforde Society was founded in 1968 by the Revd Canon L Rule Wilson and may be said to have two main aims:

  • to extend and develop knowledge of James Woodforde's life and the society in which he lived
  • to provide opportunity for fellow enthusiasts to meet together - from time to time - in places associated with the diarist, and to exchange news and views

The Society is a Registered Charity (no. 1010807), and is affiliated to the Alliance of Literary Societies.


Membership of the Parson Woodforde Society is open to any person of the age of 18 years and over upon successful application, and upon payment of the subscription then in force; subject only to the power of the committee to limit membership to a prescribed number. For information about joining the Society, please click here.

The Journal

The Society's Journal has been produced three or four times a year since 1968. It is usually 40-50 pages in length, and contains four or five substantial articles on matters of interest to Society members, together with editorial material and letters. There are occasional extended supplements: for example, The Custances and their Family Circle by L H M Hill, and Parson Woodforde and the Tax System by R L Winstanley.

Non-members may read the Journal at the Bodleian Library, Oxford, Norfolk & Norwich Millennium Library, the University of East Anglia Library, the London Library and Somerset Archaeological and Natural History Society.

The Society's Newsletter typically consists of four pages relating to such matters as meetings and publications. From Summer 2011, the Newsletter is available on this website to download.

In 2008 the Society marked its 40th anniversary by publishing Walks Around James Woodforde's Norwich, a 48-page booklet describing the city which Woodforde knew. Illustrated with maps and drawings. Still available.

Current Committee Members

  • Prof. R.G. Wilson - President
  • Martin Brayne - Chairman & Journal Editor
  • David Case - Vice Chairman
  • Robert Bates
  • Katharine Solomon - Newsletter Editor
  • Jenny Alderson
  • Ann Brayne - Treasurer
  • Lee Abraham - Hon. Secretary
  • Brian Richardson
  • Diana McKay - Membership Secretary
  • Peter McKay

this page last updated on 17 November, 2017

© Parson Woodforde Society 2007-2017
"we breakfasted, dined, &c - again at home..."